Blood Sisters Blog Tour banner
Blood Sisters by Jane Corry

Synopsis:

THREE LITTLE GIRLS SET OFF TO SCHOOL ONE SUNNY MORNING.
WITHIN AN HOUR, ONE OF THEM IS DEAD.

‘So many twists and turns, I just couldn’t put it down! Highly recommended *****’ Goodreads reviewer

From the author of the 2016 bestseller MY HUSBAND’S WIFE, comes a spine-tingling psychological suspense about two sisters bound by a deadly secret, for fans of Liane Moriarty and B A Paris.

Two women. Two versions of the truth.

Kitty lives in a care home. She can’t speak properly, and she has no memory of the accident that put her here. At least that’s the story she’s sticking to.

Art teacher Alison looks fine on the surface. But the surface is a lie. When a job in a prison comes up she decides to take it – this is her chance to finally make things right.

But someone is watching Kitty and Alison.
Someone who wants revenge for what happened that sunny morning in May.
And only another life will do…

My Review:

3 girls set off to school one morning, within an hour 1 is dead………
This synopsis had me hooked with just that sentence. I love a good plot that has reflective chapters to the past and present and this one did not let me down. The two main protagonists are Alison and Kitty, who have a complex relationship, based upon secrets, lies and scheming.

Alison is currently a part-time art teacher at a local college. When she decides to take another part-time job at an open prison. Cue lots of interesting and multifaceted characters, within the prisoner population. I absolutely loved how we learned little bits of their pasts, crime and personalities as the plot unravelled. The prison is a cat D, low risk prison but the authors creative mind has really come alive during the characterisation. When Alison begins to receive threatening notes, it brings the suspicion element.
Who is targeting Alison and why? What is Alison hiding?

Kitty on the other hand, is a more difficult character to get a feel for. Kitty resides in a care home; she has a brain injury. Which has led to several disabilities including no verbal communication, memory loss and frustration due to not being unable to speak for herself. I have worked within the care sector for 10 years. Exclusively in mental health/learning disabilities homes. I found the portrayal of the staff, very honest and sadly very accurate! The overbearing approach and quickness to oppress Kitty by speaking for her, is something I have personally witnessed. Aside from the novel, this is why I think empowerment of people with disability is key to change in the sector. But I did think it was very clever that the author, had written it on par with a reality that many carers will agree with.

With somebody stalking Alison, watching her every move. Kitty must deal with a visitor she is petrified but can’t remember why.
The two characters are very, very different and yet their story and past is entwined. But how? As the plot plays out we learn more of the secrets and the pain of the past and how they resonate into the futures of the two women. With a love/hate relationship between the two and the theme of redemption.
This novel is very well written, a compelling mystery, that reads right up to the very last page.
4*

Jane Corry credit Justine Stoddart
Jane Corry
Authors Links
Via Publisher:https://www.penguin.co.uk/authors/jane-corry/126571/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/myhusbandswife/
Twitter: @JaneCorryAuthor

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review #BloodSisters by @JaneCorryAuthor @PenguinUKBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s