*I received a copy via Bookbridgr in return for an honest review*

cover
Hello Again by Brenda Novak
Dr Evelyn Talbot series #2
Synopsis:

This is SILENCE OF THE LAMBS meets Karen Rose…

Dr Evelyn Talbot has spent her life looking over her shoulder after her teenage boyfriend Jasper Moore kidnapped, tortured and left her for dead.

She only just escaped with her life, he disappeared without a trace, and twenty-two years later Evelyn can still feel him lurking in the shadows. Studying the psychopathic minds at Hanover House – Alaska’s first mental health facility for psychopaths – is how she will track him down.
Lyman Bishop could be the perfect subject. Evelyn discovers he is just as intelligent and trustworthy as Jasper appeared, and he hardly seems like the man who has been convicted of kidnapping and murdering several women.

But if Evelyn has learnt anything at all from her terrifying experience, it’s that the most unassuming can be the most dangerous of all.

My review:

This novel is extremely dark, very well written and definitely not for the faint hearted! The novel is set at Hanover House, a mental health institute for patients with psychopathic disorders. It is in the remote location of Alaska, USA. The setting made the novel atmospheric at times; picturing a ramshackle building in isolation; a team of experts and a selection of psychopaths! I had to know more……..

“We are all evil in some form or another” The night stalker – Richard Ramirez

The opening truly sets the pace, Dr Evelyn Talbot is made aware of new arrival patient to Hanover House Dr Lyman Bishop. Bishop is accused of murdering several young women and he is almost, a Hannibal Lecter type patient, with his intellect and wit!
Bishop professes his innocence, at every given chance.
But Evelyn has heard/seen it all before.

Evelyn herself is a complex character, having been the only victim to escape serial killer Jasper Moore, at just 16years old. Jasper (then just 17years old) has evaded justice ever since. So, here we are 20 years later, and Evelyn is desperate for justice! She has dedicated her life to her profession, her sole drive being her determination to bring Jasper to account for his crimes.

“What made some people more evil than others?”

Hanover House is more than just a setting, it is written so detailed, you feel as though you are within its walls. The professionals past and present are uncovered. We learn that Evelyn herself, dealt with some harassment from a previous doctor and that doctor still remains trying to establish contact! When a heavily pregnant young woman arrives at Hanover House, claiming to be one of Bishop’s victim’s relatives, the novel takes an intriguing twist!
Is this about justice for Evelyn? Or justice for all victims of psychopaths?

Psychopaths by nature are cunning, manipulative and deceptive. They do not offer information voluntarily! Which makes this novel one hell of a gripping read! I was hooked on Bishop’s character portrayal. Is he innocent? Is he the victim? Or has he just learned, how to play the victim?
Bishop has a sister with severe learning difficulties, her role in the plot, adds a sinister twist!

This novel covers the victims of violence, their relatives, the killers themselves and their relatives! So, for a serial killer thriller you get a whole range of perspectives! I felt this really added to the depth of the plot and characters. The author has done an incredible job of bringing Hanover House alive!

This novel would appeal to those who like their crime novels dark and layered. Would recommend for fans of Karin Slaughter, Belinda Bauer, Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton.

BN
Brenda Novak
Authors links:
Website: https://brendanovak.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/12937.Brenda_Novak
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BrendaNovakAuthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Brenda_Novak

6 thoughts on “#Review 4* Hello Again by @Brenda_Novak @headlinepg @bookbridgr #CrimeFiction #NewRelease

      1. I am a member 😃 that’s where I got my copy from, and I’ve got a NG copy too, I really needed this book in my life so I requested it from every available site 🙈

        I don’t seem to have that much luck with bookbridgr though 😔

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s