cover
Killed by Thomas Enger – A Henning Juul novel
Translated by Kari Dickson
Synopsis:

Crime reporter Henning Juul thought his life was over when his young son was murdered. But that was only the beginning…

Determined to find his son’s killer, Henning doggedly follows an increasingly dangerous trail, where dark hands from the past emerge to threaten everything. His ex-wife Nora is pregnant with another man’s child, his sister Trine is implicated in the fire that killed his son and, with everyone he thought he could trust seemingly hiding something, Henning has nothing to lose … except his own life.

Packed with tension and unexpected twists, Killed is the long-awaited finale of one of the darkest, most chilling and emotive series you may ever read.
Someone will be killed. But who?

My review:

This novel has a deeply layered plot. The central theme is a criminal enterprise with a long reach across Norway! A drug empire, nonchalant in its criminal endeavours and relentless killings. It really had the feel of a Norwegian Narcos and would make an AMAZING TV series!!!!!

I loved the way the plot is told from a variety of perspectives. This helped in keeping track of all the characters and key players in the gang. Henning Juul is a great protagonist. A broken man in profound emotional and psychological pain. I liked his character instantly and wanted him to get the justice, he so desperately seeks. But with Henning, nothing is ever straight forward…….

The novel opens with a prologue that matches the cover. Which I think is brilliantly done by the publishers. It sets the tone as dark, eerie and complex! I couldn’t wait to explore the novel further.

I am new to the series, so I had to catch up at a rapid speed. The novel explains the previous case Henning has investigated; and what led this investigative journalist to have a hit on his head. The attempt on his life, left his young son dead and Henning with a whole world of questions!
Questions that drive him further and further into harm’s way.

The case involves criminals, who’s criminal activity reaches as far back as the 1990s. The general consensus is that if you take on this gang. You and everyone you hold dear, will end up dead! But with Henning’s son already dead. His wife pregnant by another man, Henning has little left to lose. So begins his investigation….

Henning wears the scars of his previous run-in with the gang. He suffers from memory loss and he has been green-lit to be killed. But this only fans the flames of his desire for vengeance. Throughout the novel he receives tip-offs and pieces of information, some that lead very close to home. Yet the people closest to him, seem to be holding back on the part they played, in the death of his young son.

The criminals in the novel are brilliantly portrayed. The secret identities add to the mystery and intrigue. They are ruthless in their determination to wipe out all that leads to Henning. Forcing Henning to a safe house and to use a secret coded system to communicate with informants. You are left under no illusion, if you cross this gang, it spells one word……..Death!

The perfect crime fiction read for fans of Narcos and The Girl With The Dragon tattoo. 5*

TE
Thomas Enger
Authors links:
Website
Via Orenda Books
Facebook
Twitter

***Don’t miss the other fabulous bloggers on the #BlogTour***
banner

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review #Killed by @EngerThomas #HenningJuul 5* @OrendaBooks @annecater #CrimeFiction #NewRelease

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s