cover
The Rabbit Hunter by Lars Kepler – Joona Linna #6
My own copy from my TBR pile
Synopsis:

It begins with a nursery rhyme. Nineteen minutes later you die…

The sixth gripping thriller in Lars Kepler’s bestselling series featuring Joona Linna. Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

There’s a face at the window.
A stranger wearing a mask stands in the shadow of a garden. He’s watching his first victim through the window. He will kill him slowly, make it last – play him a nursery rhyme – make him pay.

A killer in your house.
There’s only one person the police can turn to – ex-Detective Joona Linna – but he’s serving time in a high-security prison. So they offer him a chance to secure his freedom: help Superintendent Saga Bauer track down the vicious killer known as the Rabbit Hunter, before he strikes again.

Only one man can stop him.
Soon another three victims have been murdered and Stockholm is in the grip of terror. Joona Linna must catch a disturbed predator, whose trail of destruction leads back to one horrific night of violence – with consequences more terrifying than anyone could have imagined…

My Review:

I am a huge fan of the Joona Linna series. If I remember correctly we were left on a huge cliff hanger, of an ending for quite some time. Knowing that there was both positive and negative outcomes for Jonna’s future.
I pre-ordered this novel and read as soon as it was delivered! It did not disappoint. The backstory of Joona is immense and the series is best read from the beginning. This is not my favourite of the series, as it lacked that insight into Joona, that we have come to know and love in every other edition to the series.

The novel opens with a brutal scene, of sexual degradation. A call girl arrive at a prestigious address in Germaniqviken, to a ‘date’ with a mysterious new client named Wille. Sofia has been an escort for 3yrs and is experienced in her work and the dangers it brings. But nothing can prepare her for the moment, Wille turns. He spits in her face and it is in this moment Sofia realises she has been drugged. A Cat and mouse game of sexual assault takes place until at last Sofia is saved by a figure wearing a mask. But who is the masked individual? And where did they come from?

Before Wille is shot by the intruder, they share some sinister words. . . .
‘I know that Ratjen opened the door and now. . .’ – Intruder
‘Who’s Ratjen?’ – Wille
‘And now hell is going to devour you all’ – Intruder
But what does it all mean and who is Ratjen?

Superintendent Saga Bauer nis working for counter terroism, when she receives a code platinum, the highest threat to national security. She arrives at the scene to find the dead body of the foreign minister (Wille), a hooker in handcuffs and an intruder that has fled the scene.

Janus Mickelson is put in command of the operation. But it is clear from the off, something is not at all right. The victim was shot in the stomach as distance, then momentarily later shot in each eye socket. What does it mean? Why did the killer, kill in this manner? The killer spent the time an effort to ensure no evidence this was left behind, this was not the work of an amateur but a trained killer.
Was he hired for the job?

Meanwhile, the witness Sofia dissolves into further emotional instability. Relieved to have survived an attempted savage rape, she is now faced with unorthodox treatment by the counter-terror squad. Saga is quick to bring in psychologist Jeanette Fleming to assess the witness and determine if she is too a victim.

Saga reflects back upon the previous foreign minister Anna Lindh’s murder via stabbing. She wonders if this crime scene is politically motivated at all.
If so why? And to what gain?

The counter-terror team, trace links to Salim Ratjen, who is serving a lengthy prison sentence for narcotics. Here’s the moment where Joona Linna will come back into the story. Saga asks Joona to covertly gather intel from Ratjen. A feat which is no easy task in maximum security jail, where nobody trusts anybody and Joona is well-known as an ex-cop. Will he do it? Will Joona help with the case?
After everything the police have put him through.

The novel continues with further twists and turns. It is cleverly plotted and incredibly detailed. Is it Lars Kepler’s finest novel to date? Nope, sorry! But that doesn’t mean it isn’t a fantastic thriller. I may have been guilty of personally putting this novel on far too high a pedestal. Initially I assumed a terrorism angle, but it is so much deeper than that.
This crime is a personal crime, a crime of revenge. 4*

LK
Lars Kepler
Website
Facebook

2 thoughts on “Anne Bonny #BookReview The Rabbit Hunter by Lars Kepler #NewRelease #CrimeFiction @HarperFiction @fictionpubteam #JoonaLinna #Series – It begins with a nursery rhyme. Nineteen minutes later you die. . .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s