#BlogTour #Review #Killed by @EngerThomas #HenningJuul 5* @OrendaBooks @annecater #CrimeFiction #NewRelease

cover
Killed by Thomas Enger – A Henning Juul novel
Translated by Kari Dickson
Synopsis:

Crime reporter Henning Juul thought his life was over when his young son was murdered. But that was only the beginning…

Determined to find his son’s killer, Henning doggedly follows an increasingly dangerous trail, where dark hands from the past emerge to threaten everything. His ex-wife Nora is pregnant with another man’s child, his sister Trine is implicated in the fire that killed his son and, with everyone he thought he could trust seemingly hiding something, Henning has nothing to lose … except his own life.

Packed with tension and unexpected twists, Killed is the long-awaited finale of one of the darkest, most chilling and emotive series you may ever read.
Someone will be killed. But who?

My review:

This novel has a deeply layered plot. The central theme is a criminal enterprise with a long reach across Norway! A drug empire, nonchalant in its criminal endeavours and relentless killings. It really had the feel of a Norwegian Narcos and would make an AMAZING TV series!!!!!

I loved the way the plot is told from a variety of perspectives. This helped in keeping track of all the characters and key players in the gang. Henning Juul is a great protagonist. A broken man in profound emotional and psychological pain. I liked his character instantly and wanted him to get the justice, he so desperately seeks. But with Henning, nothing is ever straight forward…….

The novel opens with a prologue that matches the cover. Which I think is brilliantly done by the publishers. It sets the tone as dark, eerie and complex! I couldn’t wait to explore the novel further.

I am new to the series, so I had to catch up at a rapid speed. The novel explains the previous case Henning has investigated; and what led this investigative journalist to have a hit on his head. The attempt on his life, left his young son dead and Henning with a whole world of questions!
Questions that drive him further and further into harm’s way.

The case involves criminals, who’s criminal activity reaches as far back as the 1990s. The general consensus is that if you take on this gang. You and everyone you hold dear, will end up dead! But with Henning’s son already dead. His wife pregnant by another man, Henning has little left to lose. So begins his investigation….

Henning wears the scars of his previous run-in with the gang. He suffers from memory loss and he has been green-lit to be killed. But this only fans the flames of his desire for vengeance. Throughout the novel he receives tip-offs and pieces of information, some that lead very close to home. Yet the people closest to him, seem to be holding back on the part they played, in the death of his young son.

The criminals in the novel are brilliantly portrayed. The secret identities add to the mystery and intrigue. They are ruthless in their determination to wipe out all that leads to Henning. Forcing Henning to a safe house and to use a secret coded system to communicate with informants. You are left under no illusion, if you cross this gang, it spells one word……..Death!

The perfect crime fiction read for fans of Narcos and The Girl With The Dragon tattoo. 5*

TE
Thomas Enger
Authors links:
Website
Via Orenda Books
Facebook
Twitter

***Don’t miss the other fabulous bloggers on the #BlogTour***
banner

#BlogTour 5* #Review Calling Down The Storm by Peter Murphy @noexitpress @annecater

calling down blog tour poster final (5)
Calling Down The Storm by Peter Murphy

The synopsis:

Calling Down the Storm is the story of two separate but strangely parallel lives: the life of a defendant on trial for murder, and the life of the judge who presides over his trial.

April 1971.When DI Webb and DS Raymond arrive at Harpur’s Mews in Bloomsbury in response to a 999 call, a horrific scene awaits them. Susan Lang is lying on the ground, bleeding to death. Her husband Henry is sitting nearby, holding a large, blood-stained knife. In shock, Henry claims to have no memory of the events that led to his wife’s death leaving his barrister, Ben Schroeder, little to defend a potential charge of murder.

Unknown to his strict Baptist wife Deborah who lives in the family home in Guildford, Mr Justice Conrad Rainer has a secret life in his London flat, a life as a high-stakes gambler. In his desperation for money to fund his gaming, he has already raided his own and Deborah’s resources, and now he has crossed another line – one from which there is no return.

To his horror, as the trial of Henry Lang starts, Conrad discovers a sinister connection between the trial and his gambling debts, a connection that could cause his world to unravel. And then, there’s the other terrible secret he is hiding in his flat. In a rare case in which the judge is in greater peril than the defendant on trial in his court, both Henry and Conrad have called down the storm on to their heads.

Their lives are on the line, and time is running out.

My Review:

Every so often I enjoy an in-depth, plot layered novel with a legal theme. I am a huge John Grisham fan and recently finished the Mississippi trilogy by Greg Iles. However, legal thrillers based in the UK seem somewhat, rarer. So I was delighted to discover this series by Peter Murphy. Its intelligent, its cleverly written and gripping!

The novel opens in April 1971, DI Webb and DS Raymond are called to an horrific crime scene just a few minutes’ walk from the police station. A young woman lays bleeding to death on the street….. A man is sat in a doorway near the body, holding a blood dripping knife and he appears in a trance like state. The police must act fast to secure the weapon and bring emergency medical care to the woman. What started as a peaceful Wednesday afternoon, will certainly not, end as one, for those involved………..

Through DI Johnny Webb and DS Phil Raymond’s investigation we learn the victim was Susan Lang. The main suspect, her husband Henry Lang, remains in custody and his physical/mental health undetermined. Henry claims to have no memory of the attack, what happened and why he was found holding the murder weapon. Is this a clever act of amnesia? Or is Henry telling the truth? We learn that Henry and Susan were in the middle of a messy, chaotic divorce. With their two young children, Marianne and Stephanie being used as bargaining chips between the pair. They had a court appointed welfare officer dealing with their custody dispute, Wendy Cameron. Wendy is however, the main eye witness of the attack. The only one, who claims to know what truly happened! What would drive a man to viciously stab his wife? And why round the corner from a police station? Henry remains in a catatonic state and one thing is for certain, if he doesn’t come up with answers soon, he will spend the rest of his life in jail!

This novel interweaves the story of Henry Lang, main murder suspect and that of Judge Conrad Rainer. This is very cleverly done as the two men lead very different lives and come from very different backgrounds. I felt this worked incredibly well. As we are drawn into the downfalls of these men.

Judge Conrad Rainer lives a perfect middle class existence with his Baptist wife, Deborah. But Conrad has another side to his life, his wife knows nothing about. Conrad Rainer has many secrets……..
The novel shifts to 18 month previously in Conrad’s life and we learn how he often escaped to his flat for work purposes. Which enabled him to drink to excess and do as he pleases, away from the prying eyes of his wife. Conrad joins an exclusive gambling club and enjoys mixing with the affluent clientele. He meets an unusual woman of much intrigue and swiftly becomes addicted to his life in his flat, where he may be, who he really is, deep down. But is Conrad being groomed for something much bigger than his gambling debts? How much is Conrad willing to pay, for this secret life?

Remembering this is an era, when men rarely got custody of their children and had to be prepared to fight the system for simple visitation rights. This novel pulls at the emotions of a child custody battle and the feelings of the parents and children involved. When Henry’s trial begins, we see the inner workings of court cases and learn, there is more to this case, than meets the eye. Conrad learns a tough lesson, in that, where power and wealth mix, corruption surely follows………..

What will happen when the lives of the suspect, judge and a known criminal collide? Who can you trust, when everyone, has something to cover up?
A gripping legal thriller 5*