Anne Bonny #BlogTour #BookReview The Dead Ex by @JaneCorryAuthor #Psychological #Thriller #NewRelease #TheDeadEx He cheated. He lied. He died.

cover
The Dead Ex by Jane Corry
Review Copy
Synopsis:

HE CHEATED. HE LIED. HE DIED.

Vicki’s husband David once promised to love her in sickness and in health. But after a brutal attack left her suffering with epilepsy, he ran away with his mistress.

So when Vicki gets a call one day to say that he’s missing, her first thought is ‘good riddance’. But then the police find evidence suggesting that David is dead. And they think Vicki had something to do with it.

What really happened on the night of David’s disappearance?
And how can Vicki prove her innocence, when she’s not even sure of it herself?

My Review:

The Dead Ex, is a cleverly weaved psychological thriller that keeps you on your toes. There are multiple narratives and I was unsure how they would all fit together. But when the truth is finally revealed it is makes for a dramatic finale.
We follow Vicki an aromatherapist from Cornwall, who comes under police suspicion when her ex-husband goes missing.
What is Vicki’s story? Why is she so evasive with the truth?

‘I love aromatherapy. Its magic is both distracting and calming’

The second narrative is that of Scarlet, a young child. Scarlet’s narrative is written from 2007. We become aware she is living with her mother and that the circumstances aren’t healthy for such a young child. When her mother is arrested, Scarlet enters the foster care system. It is a system that will come to shape her entire existence and being.

The novel jumps between Vicki and Scarlet’s stories. We learn that Vicki’s marriage was one of disaster, married to a cold and distant man. When Vicki is viciously attacked at her workplace, she develops epilepsy. Which calls an abrupt end to her marriage. Her ex, clearly not to big on the whole ‘in sickness and in health’ vow. Scarlet enters the foster care system and we become aware of the wide-range of placements that exist. From abusive and overcrowded to loving and caring. Scarlet rejects all forms of help, her tie to her mother too strong to let go of.

Vicki is an unreliable narrator due to her personal feelings of vengeance towards her husband. You never fully feel comfortable trusting that she is as innocent as she makes out.
Scarlet is an unreliable narrator due to the emotional manipulation she has sustained over her childhood. After all, a child that has emotionally abused, will only grow-up to replicate that behaviour.

The author has done an outstanding job of weaving the two stories and keeping the reader guessing throughout. 4*

JC
Jane Corry
Twitter
Website

***Don’t miss the other fabulous bloggers on the blog tour***
banner

#BlogTour #Review #BloodSisters by @JaneCorryAuthor @PenguinUKBooks

Blood Sisters Blog Tour banner
Blood Sisters by Jane Corry

Synopsis:

THREE LITTLE GIRLS SET OFF TO SCHOOL ONE SUNNY MORNING.
WITHIN AN HOUR, ONE OF THEM IS DEAD.

‘So many twists and turns, I just couldn’t put it down! Highly recommended *****’ Goodreads reviewer

From the author of the 2016 bestseller MY HUSBAND’S WIFE, comes a spine-tingling psychological suspense about two sisters bound by a deadly secret, for fans of Liane Moriarty and B A Paris.

Two women. Two versions of the truth.

Kitty lives in a care home. She can’t speak properly, and she has no memory of the accident that put her here. At least that’s the story she’s sticking to.

Art teacher Alison looks fine on the surface. But the surface is a lie. When a job in a prison comes up she decides to take it – this is her chance to finally make things right.

But someone is watching Kitty and Alison.
Someone who wants revenge for what happened that sunny morning in May.
And only another life will do…

My Review:

3 girls set off to school one morning, within an hour 1 is dead………
This synopsis had me hooked with just that sentence. I love a good plot that has reflective chapters to the past and present and this one did not let me down. The two main protagonists are Alison and Kitty, who have a complex relationship, based upon secrets, lies and scheming.

Alison is currently a part-time art teacher at a local college. When she decides to take another part-time job at an open prison. Cue lots of interesting and multifaceted characters, within the prisoner population. I absolutely loved how we learned little bits of their pasts, crime and personalities as the plot unravelled. The prison is a cat D, low risk prison but the authors creative mind has really come alive during the characterisation. When Alison begins to receive threatening notes, it brings the suspicion element.
Who is targeting Alison and why? What is Alison hiding?

Kitty on the other hand, is a more difficult character to get a feel for. Kitty resides in a care home; she has a brain injury. Which has led to several disabilities including no verbal communication, memory loss and frustration due to not being unable to speak for herself. I have worked within the care sector for 10 years. Exclusively in mental health/learning disabilities homes. I found the portrayal of the staff, very honest and sadly very accurate! The overbearing approach and quickness to oppress Kitty by speaking for her, is something I have personally witnessed. Aside from the novel, this is why I think empowerment of people with disability is key to change in the sector. But I did think it was very clever that the author, had written it on par with a reality that many carers will agree with.

With somebody stalking Alison, watching her every move. Kitty must deal with a visitor she is petrified but can’t remember why.
The two characters are very, very different and yet their story and past is entwined. But how? As the plot plays out we learn more of the secrets and the pain of the past and how they resonate into the futures of the two women. With a love/hate relationship between the two and the theme of redemption.
This novel is very well written, a compelling mystery, that reads right up to the very last page.
4*

Jane Corry credit Justine Stoddart
Jane Corry
Authors Links
Via Publisher:https://www.penguin.co.uk/authors/jane-corry/126571/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/myhusbandswife/
Twitter: @JaneCorryAuthor