Anne Bonny #BlogTour #Giveaway What She Saw Last Night by MJ Cross @MasonCrossBooks @OrionBooks #CrimeFiction #Suspense #Mystery

cover
What She Saw Last Night by MJ Cross ~ Standalone Novel
Currently Reading ~ Absolutely loving it!
Synopsis ~

No one will believe … WHAT SHE SAW LAST NIGHT.

Jenny Bowen is going home. Boarding the Caledonian Sleeper, all she wants to do is forget about her upcoming divorce and relax on the ten-hour journey through the night.

In her search for her cabin, Jenny helps a panicked woman with a young girl she assumes to be her daughter. Then she finds her compartment and falls straight to sleep.

Waking in the night, Jenny discovers the woman dead in her cabin … but there’s no sign of the little girl. The train company have no record of a child being booked on the train, and CCTV shows the dead woman boarding alone.

The police don’t believe Jenny, and soon she tries to put the incident out of her head and tells herself that everyone else is right: she must have imagined the little girl.

But deep down, she knows that isn’t the truth.

*Giveaway* ~ To enter simply comment on this blog post of RT the pinned Tweet @annebonnybook

MC
Mason Cross
Twitter
Amazon Page
Website
My Review ~ Presumed Dead

banner
*Apologises for delayed blog post to Tracy & Mason*

blog image
Anne Bonny Book Reviews ~ Amazon Wish List
*Like what you see here @ Annebonnybookreviews.com, consider buying me a book*
Thank you for your time.

Anne Bonny #BookReview This Little Dark Place by A.S. Hatch @andrewshatch 4* #Thriller #Psychological #Mystery @SerpentsTail

cover
This Little Dark Place by A.S. Hatch
Review Copy – Hardback
Synopsis ~

How well do you know your girlfriend?

How well do you know your lover?

How well do you know yourself?

Daniel and Victoria are together. They’re trying for a baby. Ruby is in prison, convicted of assault on an abusive partner.

But when Daniel joins a pen pal program for prisoners, he and Ruby make contact. At first the messages are polite, neutral – but soon they find themselves revealing more and more about themselves. Their deepest fears, their darkest desires.

And then, one day, Ruby comes to find Daniel. And now he must decide who to choose – and who to trust.

My Review ~

This novel has such a brilliant and appealing synopsis. We immediately know it will be a psychological thriller riddled with suspense and we are NOT let down.
The novel revolves around the characters of Daniel, Victoria and pen-pal Ruby. We are aware that Daniel is enrolled in a pen-pal programme, but the messages end up going so much deeper than a mere friendship…

‘Two damaged souls, reaching out for a connection’

It isn’t long before Daniel is divulging far too many details of his personal life and relationships. When Ruby reciprocates this response, we the reader immediately know it isn’t going to end well for either of them…

‘I didn’t intend to write back to her but of course I did’

Daniel is at times, an unreliable narrator and I never knew if he was telling the truth or playing games. You just simply can’t trust him and neither should Victoria or Ruby.
The novel is fast paced, edgy and modern. A cracking debut might I add. I raced through the pages and couldn’t wait to get to the end.

Daniel is most definitely a weirdo, but that doesn’t make him a criminal or does it? 4*

ASH
A.S. Hatch
Twitter
Website

*apologies for delayed review*

Anne Bonny #BookReview The Wartime Midwives by Daisy Styles #ww2Fiction #HistoricalFiction #Mystery #ww2 #Saga

TWM
The Wartime Midwives by Daisy Styles
Review Copy ~ Paperback

Synopsis ~

In the dark days of war a new hope is born . . .
1939.

Mary Vale, a grand and imposing Mother & Baby Home, sits on the edge of the Lake District. Its doors are open to unmarried women who come to hide their condition and find sanctuary.

Women from all walks of life pass through Mary Vale, from beautiful waitress Emily, whose boyfriend has vanished without trace, to young Isla, cast out by her wealthy family after her first year at university goes horribly wrong.

Awaiting them is Nurse Ada and Sister Anne who work tirelessly to aid the mothers and safely deliver the babies. But the unforgiving Matron and Head of Governors, Captain Percival, have other, more sinister, ideas.

As war looms the women at Mary Vale must pull together for the sake of themselves and their babies and Ada and Anne must help protect their patients, no matter what the cost.

My Review ~

‘The place regularly echoes with the cries of heartbroken mothers unable to keep their babies’

With The Wartime Midwives, we are introduced to the wartime unwed mother’s homes and the truly awful way women were treated in the era. There are a wealth of characters within the story. From the girls themselves, to the women on staff and the dark forces at work behind the scenes. As a reader you also begin to understand that the reasons for unwanted pregnancy is not always down to the loose morals of the female but complex issues such as lack of education/access to contraception or in the worst cases… rape.

‘It seemed ridiculous that in 1939 a young woman could be ignorant of the facts of life’

There are various social/economical/financial issues that impact the women’s ability to care for or raise their children. Which class tier you identified with, usually indicated the amount of options available to you…

‘Working class I may be, but I certainly know how to love and nurture a baby’

The sheer emotional power of shame is laid bear for all to see. I really felt for each of the women and wanted to reach through the pages (and the years) to offer some support.
A perfect title for modern day women to read, to gain some insight into the lives of 1940s women. Perfect for fans of Call The Midwife. 4* 

Anne Bonny #BlogTour #BookReview Then She Vanishes by Claire Douglas 4* #CrimeFiction #Thriller #Mystery #CoastalCrime #Psychological

cover
Then She Vanishes by Claire Douglas
Review Copy

Synopsis ~

THE ONLY THING THAT WILL SHOCK YOU MORE THAN THE FIRST CHAPTER . . .
IS THE LAST. . .

Jess and Heather were once best friends – until the night Heather’s sister Flora vanished. The night that lies tore their friendship apart.

But years later, when a brutal double murder shakes their childhood town, Jess returns home.

Because the suspect is Heather.

What happened to the girl you used to know?

My Review ~

The prologue begins in March 2012. An individual with a shotgun in their hand  and murder on their mind. We then watch on as a man and woman are shot in cold blood and at close range. But the killer knew there was a witness and just casually left the scene of the crime. Why did they murder the people? What is their motive?

We are then introduced to Bristol and Somerset Herald journalist Jessica Fox. She is writing up the murders of mother and son Clive Wilson (58) and Deirdre Wilson (76). The suspect is local woman Heather Underwood (32), but she is in critical condition after administering a near fatal gunshot wound to her chest.
The name Heather Underwood leads Jessica to one question and one question only…
‘Is it my Heather?’

It then becomes clear that Jessica is acquainted with the suspected perpetrator and her family. But will this help or hinder Jess in getting close to the family and uncovering their secrets?
The family background of both Heather and Jess is detailed over the following story and weaved within the narrative. The biggest question remains on everyone’s mind…

‘Why would someone want to kill an old lady who never hurt a fly’

I did find the title had a slow (ish) start after the opening murder scene description and had moments of slow burn throughout. That being said I love the coastal location. The idea of secrets from the past and the intense ‘why she did it’ as opposed to ‘who did it’. 4* 

CD
Claire Douglas
Twitter

banner

Anne Bonny #BlogTour #BookReview The River by Peter Heller 4* #NewRelease #LiteraryFiction #Mystery @wnbooks #Survival #Canada

cover
The River by Peter Heller
Review Copy

Synopsis ~

Two friends
Wynn and Jack have been best friends since their first day of college, brought together by their shared love of books and the great outdoors.

The adventure of a lifetime
When they decide to take time off university and canoe down the Maskwa River in northern Canada, they anticipate the ultimate wilderness experience.
No phones.
No fellow travellers.
No way of going back.

A hellish ride
But as a raging wildfire starts to make its way towards them, their expedition becomes a desperate race for survival. And when a man suddenly appears, claiming his wife has vanished, the fight against nature’s destructive power becomes entangled with a much deadlier game of cat and mouse.

My Review ~

‘The only tracks in the mud of the portages were wolf and moose, otter, bear’

The prologue warns us of a local forest fire. The opening within this title is at times difficult, with the intensity of the story and the descriptive writing. But once Wynn and Jack’s Backstory is revealed it does become a much easier read. Their childhood and family relationships are explored and we come to understand what drives them to want to be alone in the wilderness.

‘There should be two paddles, a man and a woman’
On their trek down river they come across a man (Pierre) alone. He talks of a missing wife named Maia, but she is nowhere to be seen. Wynn and Jack are torn as what to do, they are not only battling natures elements but the elements of great danger with a forest fire quickly spreading. They decide to venture back to the couples camp and assess the situation from there. On the journey back, 10 days of provisions are lost and things don’t look any brighter when they arrive at the couple’s camp, to find Maia, a victim of a violent attack.

Who did this to Maia? Was this a bear attack? A domestic violence incident?
Who can Wynn and Jack trust? 

‘It’s a death sentence’ 

The remote location really adds to the sense of despair and isolation from assistance. There are various scenarios for Pierre and Maia’s plight, scenarios both Wynn and Jack attempt to understand. The hunger, exposure or the elements and exhaustion seeps from the pages. I really felt as though I was on the river, in a kayak, with the characters.
I raced through the pages in less than 3hrs, a perfect Saturday afternoon read! 4*

PH
Peter Heller
GoodReads

baner