#BlogTour #Review #Killed by @EngerThomas #HenningJuul 5* @OrendaBooks @annecater #CrimeFiction #NewRelease

cover
Killed by Thomas Enger – A Henning Juul novel
Translated by Kari Dickson
Synopsis:

Crime reporter Henning Juul thought his life was over when his young son was murdered. But that was only the beginning…

Determined to find his son’s killer, Henning doggedly follows an increasingly dangerous trail, where dark hands from the past emerge to threaten everything. His ex-wife Nora is pregnant with another man’s child, his sister Trine is implicated in the fire that killed his son and, with everyone he thought he could trust seemingly hiding something, Henning has nothing to lose … except his own life.

Packed with tension and unexpected twists, Killed is the long-awaited finale of one of the darkest, most chilling and emotive series you may ever read.
Someone will be killed. But who?

My review:

This novel has a deeply layered plot. The central theme is a criminal enterprise with a long reach across Norway! A drug empire, nonchalant in its criminal endeavours and relentless killings. It really had the feel of a Norwegian Narcos and would make an AMAZING TV series!!!!!

I loved the way the plot is told from a variety of perspectives. This helped in keeping track of all the characters and key players in the gang. Henning Juul is a great protagonist. A broken man in profound emotional and psychological pain. I liked his character instantly and wanted him to get the justice, he so desperately seeks. But with Henning, nothing is ever straight forward…….

The novel opens with a prologue that matches the cover. Which I think is brilliantly done by the publishers. It sets the tone as dark, eerie and complex! I couldn’t wait to explore the novel further.

I am new to the series, so I had to catch up at a rapid speed. The novel explains the previous case Henning has investigated; and what led this investigative journalist to have a hit on his head. The attempt on his life, left his young son dead and Henning with a whole world of questions!
Questions that drive him further and further into harm’s way.

The case involves criminals, who’s criminal activity reaches as far back as the 1990s. The general consensus is that if you take on this gang. You and everyone you hold dear, will end up dead! But with Henning’s son already dead. His wife pregnant by another man, Henning has little left to lose. So begins his investigation….

Henning wears the scars of his previous run-in with the gang. He suffers from memory loss and he has been green-lit to be killed. But this only fans the flames of his desire for vengeance. Throughout the novel he receives tip-offs and pieces of information, some that lead very close to home. Yet the people closest to him, seem to be holding back on the part they played, in the death of his young son.

The criminals in the novel are brilliantly portrayed. The secret identities add to the mystery and intrigue. They are ruthless in their determination to wipe out all that leads to Henning. Forcing Henning to a safe house and to use a secret coded system to communicate with informants. You are left under no illusion, if you cross this gang, it spells one word……..Death!

The perfect crime fiction read for fans of Narcos and The Girl With The Dragon tattoo. 5*

TE
Thomas Enger
Authors links:
Website
Via Orenda Books
Facebook
Twitter

***Don’t miss the other fabulous bloggers on the #BlogTour***
banner

#BlogTour #BookReview #FrozenWomanBook by Jon Michelet @noexitpress

*I received an arc via the publisher, in return for an honest review*

cover
The Frozen Woman by Jon Michelet
Translated by Don Bartlett
Synopsis:

TWO TIME WINNER OF NORWAY’S BEST CRIME NOVEL

A FROZEN BODY

A MURDERED BIKER

A RADICAL LAWYER WITH A MURKY PAST

In the depths of the Norwegian winter, the corpse of a woman is discovered in the garden of a notorious left-wing lawyer, Vilhelm Thygesen. She has been stabbed to death.

A young biker, a member of a gang once represented by Thygesen, dies in suspicious circumstances.

As Thygesen receives anonymous threats, investigating detectives Stribolt and Vaage uncover a web of crime and violence extending far beyond Norway’s borders.

Does the frozen woman hold the key?

My review:

This is a novel that is so much more than its cover and synopsis. The publicity team were spot on with the comparisons to Steig Larsson and the millennium trilogy. I was very surprised with the depth of the novel and I think it is written very well, much bigger issues interwoven into a murder.

Vilhelm Thygesen finds the murdered body of a frozen women in his garden. The victim has been stabbed to death and the police quickly suspect she is of eastern European origin. The crime scene offers little in the way, of forensic evidence and the murder appears motiveless. Detectives Stribolt and Vaage from the Gronland police have a complex murder on their hands. Thygesen himself, is not without controversy, with previous links to murder and fraud, the detectives instantly suspect him for having committed the murder.
But why would a man murder a young woman, bury the body in his garden and then call the police?

Thygesen is well known left-wing lawyer, retired now at 63 years old. His leftie socialist politics having caused him various run ins with the law and even led to him assisting the Hells Angels motorcycle gang. Are his politics to blame for the murder? If so, who killed the girl and why? Detectives Stribolt and Vaage nickname the nameless victim ‘Picea’, they continue to find no leads and when a local biker is found murdered, they are forced to ask themselves if there is a connection……….

Oystein Strand a local biker and member of the ‘Seven Samurai’ motorcycle club (MC) is found dead after being recently released from prison. When the brakes are found to be faulty on his bike, is this a fatal accident or pre meditated murder? What happened to Strand in prison? And how is this linked to the frozen woman? The MC gang is made up of the undesirables of society. Low end criminals with a taste for violence and mayhem. The inner workings of the gangs, their rivalry’s and their links to drug importation is exposed. But when Thygesen starts receiving anonymous photos of the frozen woman alive, prior to her murder.
The detectives must work out, how it all links in.

The politics of the legal/police/ media system in Norway is explained and the writing style is very matter of fact. There is no in-depth background on the detectives. The novel focuses solely on the murder and its relation to other criminal/political events.
A dead woman, political corruption and violent motorcycle gangs.
But what connects them all? 4*

JM
Authors links:
Website: http://www.jonmichelet.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1260891.Jon_Michelet
Via publisher: http://www.noexit.co.uk/index1.php?imprint=1&thisauthorid=368

Author bio:

Jon Michelet has been one of Norway’s leading authors through five decades. He made his debut in 1975 with the crime novel He Who Is Born to Be Hanged, Shall Never Be Drowned. He has since published numerous novels, plays and non-fiction books, and co-authored five bestselling reportage books from the Football World Cup with Dag Solstad. Michelet has also worked as a sailor, a docker, a journalist, publisher and newspaper editor. He is renowned in Norway for his strong commitment to a number of political and cultural causes.

Michelet has been awarded the Riverton Prize for Best Norwegian Crime Novel twice, for White as Snow and The Frozen Woman both part of his long running Vilhelm Thygesen series. He has also had phenomenal success with his epic series, A Hero of the Sea. Telling the story of the dramatic experiences of a Norwegian merchant navy sailor during WWII, the five novels published so far have been topping the charts since 2012, and have sold well over half a million copies, making Michelet a household name in Norway.